Let me introduce myself - from PA, USA

Please introduce yourself here
AFlorentin52
New Friend

Let me introduce myself - from PA, USA

Post by AFlorentin52 »

03/16/2022
Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

I wrote my story back in mid-March as the date indicates but I couldn't share it then because it felt so personal. I now feel a need to share it to learn more of what's really going on.

I would like to share the story of my search for God. At the time of writing this letter, I will be 70 yrs old in November. I say this to give you an idea how long I’ve been searching for God. I recently had what I would call an OMG experience and I don’t know what to make of it but maybe someone more experienced in these matters can shed some light. I lived my early life in Manila, Philippines. I traveled to the U.S.A. a few years after I graduated from college and currently living in Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

I do not exactly remember the year anymore but it was during my college years that I started to be dissatisfied with some christian church teachings. The church teaches that God is Love, on one hand, and on the other hand that there’s an eternity in hell for those who commit a grave sin and fail to seek salvation in accordance to some church doctrine of salvation.

I could not reconcile this contradictory concepts of God, who is Love, allowing a wayward soul to languish in hell for all eternity for an error committed in a lifetime that’s a blink in the timescale of eternity. This seeming contradiction has put some doubts in the beliefs I held growing up so I started looking for answers outside of the christian church even as I kept attending church services. I searched for answers but I did not lose my anchor, so to speak, and therefore set adrift. I had a vivid dream during the troubled years of my life that kept me anchored.